West Shore Career-Technical District Outstanding Student Award recipients were honored by the Rotary Club of Lakewood and Rocky River at its noon luncheon on March 10 at the Don Umerley Civic Center.

The 15 students, top performers in their Career-Technical programs, were chosen for their exemplary accomplishments in the classroom, school activities, clubs, athletics and service in the community. Each student exemplifies traits of leadership, dedication, responsibility, caring, community involvement, and initiative.

“These West Shore students have achieved top results in the classroom and workplace,” remarked Linda Thayer, West Shore Career-Technical District educational coordinator. “They have already started on their career path earning college credit, industry credentials, and workplace experience through their West Shore experience. This sets them apart from their peers as they head out into the post-secondary and workplace world.”

Parents, employers, work supervisors and guests were among those in attendance. According to Rotarian Nancy Ralls, West Shore Career-Technical District career development coordinator, this is the seventeenth year the club has honored the Outstanding Student Award winners.

The Rotary club will present each student with a gift card and a plaque to honor their achievements at West Shore’s annual Career Passport and Student Recognition Assembly on May 20. Each award recipient is automatically nominated to receive the “Career-Technical Student of the Year Award” which will be announced at West Shore’s Career Passport and Student Recognition Assembly.

West Shore districts are Bay Village, Lakewood, Rocky River and Westlake. This year West Shore is serving 510 students in its workforce development programs.

The 2013-14 Outstanding Student Award recipients are: Zachary Kulina, automotive technology; Neelab Abdullah, biotechnology; Dobrica Sucevic, business management; Miles Scavone, community-based training at Bonne Bell; Billal Yassen, community-based training at Rae Ann; Emmett O’Donnell, construction trades;

Sahana Petras, culinary arts; Jessica Graber, early childhood education; Kyle Kasper, electronic technology; Molli Thach, health careers technology; Alexander Sierputowski, interactive media; Angel Dickson, medical office management; Matthew Kerrigan, networking/Cisco; Steven Cross, Project Lead the Way; Sherine Doleh, service occupations training.